Review: 5 stars to Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

Posted 24 September, 2016 by katheryn13 in Contemporary, Mental Health, Reviews, Romance, YA / 1 Comment

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.
Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.
Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up.
Review:
I was recommended this book via booktube, and I have to say, I was not disappointed. I went into this knowing it was about a girl with schizophrenia paranoia but to what end, that was not known.
Alex is a ‘one of a kind’ kind of character, who made me laugh, cry, and generally love so much. She has so much going on, and doesn’t know what’s real and what’s not. It’s almost heartbreaking at points because you, the reader, have been taken through this journey, only for the rug to be pulled out from under you. I was right there with Alex, horrified, scared, confused. It was a mish-mash of feelings that utterly made me love this book so much.
Miles was my second favourite, and the one that intrigued me just as much as Alex. I had, to be honest, wondered if he was real, just like with a lot of the characters, I was waiting for the catch. You’re left hanging, waiting in the balance for the penny to drop. Sometimes it dropped, sometimes it didn’t.
I loved the whole gang of friends Alex ended up having, and the mystery behind the Headmaster and what he was up to. Her parents were a bit hot and cold, but then it’s surprising they even appeared as a lot of YA has non-existing parents, you know? Actually it was more the mother that annoyed me. She seemed so quick to want to send her child away.
I know it’s weird, but I have this fascination with books about characters with mental health and where hospitals are involved. It might say a lot about me. They really interest me; even if it is brushed up to be less accurate, it’s STILL made aware. I don’t understand the people that get mad because it’s not 100% how it is. Sometimes you have to embellish to make a story, and still remain loyal, and I felt like this one matched that. I got the pain of someone who was suffering, and still I got the love story, and the trauma of things going wrong. It was all there.
I wanted more when it ended, I wanted to know what happened next, but it was still a relatively happy ending, even with flaws. It almost made me want it to be a series. LOL I know. Anyway, I think you’d like this, even if the subject isn’t necessarily something you’re happy with, there’s a whole different story within it. 
A definite 5 star read for me!
-Kat
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Please follow and like us:
0

One Response to “Review: 5 stars to Made You Up by Francesca Zappia”

  1. Sounds like an interesting book. I’m strangely intrigued by films based on mental health problems. I haven’t read many books like this but I like the sound of this one.
    Amanda.

Leave a Reply