Category: Romance


Review: 4 stars to Love Song by Sophia Bennett #YA #BoyBands #Funny

Posted 25 September, 2016 by katheryn13 in Contemporary, Funny, Reviews, Romance, Updates, YA / 0 Comments
Review: 4 stars to Love Song by Sophia Bennett #YA #BoyBands #Funny

  A million girls would kill for the chance to meet The Point, but Nina’s not one of them. She’s the new assistant to the lead singer’s diva fiancée, and she knows it’s going to suck. She quickly learns that being with the hottest band on the planet isn’t as easy as it looks: behind the scenes, the boys are on the verge of splitting up. Tasked with keeping an eye on four gorgeous but spoiled rock stars, Nina’s determined to stick it out – […]


Review: 5 stars to Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

Posted 24 September, 2016 by katheryn13 in Contemporary, Mental Health, Reviews, Romance, YA / 1 Comment
Review: 5 stars to Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar. Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, […]


Review: 3.5 stars to The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury #BookBloggers #TheGirlGang

Posted 2 July, 2016 by katheryn13 in Fantasy, Reviews, Romance, Updates, YA / 0 Comments
Review: 3.5 stars to The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury #BookBloggers #TheGirlGang

I am the perfect weapon. I kill with a single touch. Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch. Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girls she truly is. Yet in a court as dangerous as the queen’s, some truths should not be […]


#Review: 4 stars to The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski #BookBloggers #YA #Fantasy

Posted 24 June, 2016 by katheryn13 in Fantasy, Reviews, Romance, Updates, YA / 1 Comment
#Review: 4 stars to The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski #BookBloggers #YA #Fantasy

Winning what you want may cost you everything you love They were never meant to be together. As a general’s daughter, seventeen-year-old Kestrel enjoys an extravagant and privileged life. Arin has nothing but the clothes on his back. Then Kestrel makes an impulsive decision that binds Arin to her. Though they try to fight it, they can’t help but fall in love. In order to be together, they must betray their people . . . but to be loyal to their country, they must betray […]


#Review: 4 stars to In The Afterlight (The Darkest Minds #3) by Alexandra Bracken #BookBloggers #YA

#Review: 4 stars to In The Afterlight (The Darkest Minds #3) by Alexandra Bracken #BookBloggers #YA

Ruby can’t look back. Fractured by an unbearable loss, she and the kids who survived the government’s attack on Los Angeles travel north to regroup. Only Ruby can keep their highly dangerous prisoner in check. But with Clancy Gray, there’s no guarantee you’re fully in control, and everything comes with a price. When the Children’s League disbands, Ruby rises up as a leader and forms an unlikely allegiance with Liam’s brother, Cole, who has a volatile secret of his own. There are still thousands of […]


Review: 4 stars to Midnight Bites by Rachel Caine #bookbloggers #Morganville

Review: 4 stars to Midnight Bites by Rachel Caine #bookbloggers #Morganville

MIDNIGHT BITES, the new Morganville Vampires short story anthology! It will bring together almost everything that I’ve written in short form about Morganville … though I did leave out some of the original “diary” entries that appeared on an earlier version of the Morganville website, simply because they were just scenes and not stories, and were generally really short snippets. This is all short fiction, and it’s been carefully organized into the timeline, so you can read from the earliest adventures (some of which belong […]


ARC Review: 5 stars to Tell Us Something True by Dana Reinhardt

Posted 26 May, 2016 by katheryn13 in Contemporary, Funny, Reviews, Romance, YA / 0 Comments
ARC Review: 5 stars to Tell Us Something True by Dana Reinhardt

Seventeen-year-old River doesn’t know what to do with himself when Penny, the girl he adores, breaks up with him. He lives in LA, where nobody walks anywhere, and Penny was his ride; he never bothered getting a license. He’s stuck. He’s desperate. Okay . . . he’s got to learn to drive. But first, he does the unthinkable—he starts walking. He stumbles upon a support group for teens with various addictions. He fakes his way into the meetings, and begins to connect with the other […]


Review: Splintered by A.G. Howard

Posted 22 April, 2016 by katheryn13 in Adventure, Fantasy, Mystery, Reviews, Romance, YA / 0 Comments
Review: Splintered by A.G. Howard

Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now. When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far […]


Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Of My Most Recent 5 Star Reads

Top Ten Tuesday:  Ten Of My Most Recent 5 Star Reads

    Good day, all. Here’s another TTT going and this one is about 10 Of My Most Recent 5 Star Reads (Or Ten Of The Best Books I’ve Read Recently if you don’t 5 star stuff…or you could do 5 of my latest five star reads & five of my most disappointing or 1 star reads). This challenge is set by the wonderful people at The Broke and the Bookish .  I’ll do this in order or how I read them. From most recent to […]


4 stars to The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Posted 20 February, 2016 by katheryn13 in Fantasy, Reviews, Romance, Supernatural, Updates, YA / 0 Comments
4 stars to The Young Elites by Marie Lu

I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside. Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and […]


Bout of Books 15 | Day 4

Bout of Books 15 | Day 4

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 4th and runs through Sunday, January 10th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 15 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books […]


It’s Review Time! #YA

It’s Review Time! #YA

Happy New Year! I hope you all had a good Christmas and are ready for another cracking year. I hope 2016 lives up to its expectations. Okay folks, it has been far too long since I did a review. So instead I’m doing mini reviews to keep it short and sweet. I have 7 books to tell you about, and so I guess I better start!   Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff This book. What can I say that hasn’t already been said in […]


#Review: 4 stars to Graceling by Kristin Cashore #YA #Fantasy

#Review: 4 stars to Graceling by Kristin Cashore #YA #Fantasy

Deadly Grace Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight–she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graces as she is with killing, she is forced to work as the king’s thug. When she first meets Prince Po, Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to […]


#Review: 4.5 Stars to P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han #YA #Contemporary @jennyhan @scholasticuk

Posted 18 August, 2015 by katheryn13 in Contemporary, Reviews, Romance, YA / 0 Comments
#Review: 4.5 Stars to P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han #YA #Contemporary @jennyhan @scholasticuk

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter. She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever. When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once? In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara […]