Category: Reviews


Review: 4 stars to Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J. Maas

Posted 18 October, 2016 by katheryn13 in Epic Fantasy, Fantasy, Mature, Reviews, Supernatural, Updates, YA / 0 Comments

Consumed by guilt and rage, Celaena can’t bring herself to spill blood for the King of Adarlan. She must fight back…

The Immortal Queen will help her destroy the king – for a price. But as Celaena battles with her darkest memories and her heart breaks for a love that could never last, can she fulfil the bargain and head the almighty court of Terrasen? And who will stand with her?

 

(DISCLAIMER: CONTAINS SWEARING BECAUSE I’M IN ONE OF THOSE MOODS. SORRY.)
Review:
Who would have thought I’d make it this far? I mean, I loved Throne of Glass (by the way, if I accidentally put ‘game of thrones’ instead, I’m sorry. It happens. lol) but it took me forever to finally get through Crown of Midnight. Sorry I didn’t do a review for that one, by the way. I just couldn’t.
Heir of Fire started out really well and I loved where Celeana was at (well, not LOVED per-se, but it was more interesting, I suppose). But then there were new characters introduced and I wasn’t sure how I felt. I mean, Manon? Nuh-uh. Sorry. I guess I’ve warmed up to her a bit by the end but her chapters were so boring for me, I was stuck around page 90-100 ready to give up.

It was very yo-yoing how many POV’s there were, to be honest, but it definitely kept me on my toes.
I think part of the problem was this book was just too long and I wasn’t in the right head space to put up with it. So, though there wasn’t anything that I could pin point as the culprit to my struggle, it just wasn’t going according to plan. The pacing definitely wasn’t that fast, which could have contributed. Fantasy tends to be hit or miss with me in terms of how we get along. Like, if I’m not 100% in it, the descriptions alone could make me want to hurl the book across the room. I have to be in the right mindset, you know? It’s not automatic acceptance. 
So I got to the point where I didn’t give a shit what colour the buildings were, I just wanted to get to the POINT! Haha. 

Then you have Rowan, and I heard so much about him (yeah, thanks Twitter. You like to ruin stuff, don’t you?) but I guess I was expecting someone different? A bit like Rhys in ACOTAR, I thought I was going to meet someone with a personality I’d love instantly (judging by how many people love him). This was not the case, but since I knew roughly things changed, I dunno…I was skeptical. One thing that put me off him, though, and call me judgemental, but I think I’m allowed to be when it comes to fictional characters (as it’s all personal preferences and NOT real people, so yeah), but when his description mentions TATTOOS? ON HIS FACE? I’m instantly nope. Not happening. I’m out.

I just don’t dig tattoos. Especially on the face.

(I mean, people are free to do what they like, but when it comes to fiction, I reserve the right to outright not like that character for doing so, yknow?)

But in the end I realised as long as they didn’t MENTION said tattoo, I could deal. I could pretend he didn’t have one. I mean, his face is a no no place for me. lol  His ‘bond’ with Celeana was weird, and I was shaking my head like “NO NO NO PLEASE NO’ because honestly those kinds of things are so cheesy and make me want to stab something. It’s the ‘mate’ thing all over again. Bah! So I’m hoping it’s just a friendship thing. *fingers crossed*
Celeana’s character development was….intriguing. I guess I’m a weird one because I actually felt more for her when she was weak and pathetic. LOL. I know, I know. You don’t need to say it. 
I felt for her past, her self-pity, I just…she made me want to CRY. 
However when she got all kick-assery and fierce with fire, I dunno…it kind of irritated me. I  wonder if it’s because I’m not fierce or strong and I get envious of characters that can change so easily (because damn, it sure seemed that way) and I can’t. Call me emotionally stilted.
Dorian. My precious prince. What have they done to you? I will forever be Team Dorian.  His growth through this series so far has made my heart GROW WITH HIM. I just love him so much. He’s so precious to me. I can’t deal. The last scenes in this book with him were terrifying and I was SO anxious.

 

And thankfully Chaol wasn’t much of import in this book. Can I get a hell yeah?

Oh, alright then. xD

Chaol utterly fucked up his own life when he decided to sit on that fucking fence like the sad mofo he really is. Honestly, I don’t know how people still LOVE him? 
Over all – I did ENJOY most of this book. There obviously were moments that bored me, and the pacing could have been better, but to be honest, it wasn’t as awful as I suppose I’ve made it out to be. It was an automatic 4 stars for me. The last quarter moved faster and I was more invested. I’m taking a break from the series for a bit, though, because this was exhausting.
-Kat
Please follow and like us:
0
Divider

Review: 4 stars to Love Song by Sophia Bennett #YA #BoyBands #Funny

Posted 25 September, 2016 by katheryn13 in Contemporary, Funny, Reviews, Romance, Updates, YA / 0 Comments

 

A million girls would kill for the chance to meet The Point, but Nina’s not one of them.
She’s the new assistant to the lead singer’s diva fiancée, and she knows it’s going to suck. She quickly learns that being with the hottest band on the planet isn’t as easy as it looks: behind the scenes, the boys are on the verge of splitting up.
Tasked with keeping an eye on four gorgeous but spoiled rock stars, Nina’s determined to stick it out – and not fall for any of them …
Review:
I have been in a real contemporary stage lately, and have basically read all the contemps I have available. It’s annoying. 
Love Song was a gem. I loved every second, and laughed at the most ridiculous things that happened. I mean, this is VERY British, and it was lovely. The band, The Point, reminded me a bit of Mcfly, but more in the sense that they’re a British band and well…yeah okay so the similarities end there. haha. 
Nina is only 17 but she’s like Mary Poppins with all her skills. It’s unnerving. Her parents say she’s too responsible and needs to get out there and live. So after a disastrous meet and greet with The Point, her younger sister – Ariel’s-  favourite band ever, Nina didn’t expect to ever see them again. Which is why it’s a shock when the band’s manager visits to offer her a job. To be the lead singer’s fiancĂ©e’s assistant. It seemed simple enough, but it turned out that Sigrid is a complete bitch. 
It’s a hilarious and somewhat awful time and when it’s over, it’s over, except it’s not…
She’s then asked to help the boys on their secluded trip away. Which is where it gets tricky because Nina thinks she’s going somewhere exotic. HAHAHAHAHA no.
I won’t spoil but I tell ya, it’s utterly ridonkulous! I loved every second, even if Nina was being a bit stupid in her thinking sometimes. The boys were fun, sexy, talented, and I so badly wish they were real now. Sigh. There’s a definite romance which feels a lot like a typical Rom-Com movie where things go wrong and then at the last minute they realise their mistake. Still, it’s brilliant, and – though I must admit, a little long-winded – so sweet. 
What confused me a bit was how Nina’s A-Levels were mentioned twice, but you never actually read about her taking them…or studying…so I was like “Wait…did they disappear or something?”
Ariel is adorable but annoying at times, but then..she is 13. So yeah. The rest of the family are included, which is great, and a change. I loved how the dad didn’t want her going anywhere, but the mum was like *dreamy face* >_< There were the usual bitchy girls, and the best friends, and the song lyrics. 
I wanted to rate this 5 stars, but despite me having read it in 2 days – which, to be honest is like light speed for me – it wasn’t one that hit the target completely, but very very nearly. I had an enormous grin on my face most of the time though, so there’s that.
-Kat

 

 

Please follow and like us:
0
Divider

Review: 5 stars to Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

Posted 24 September, 2016 by katheryn13 in Contemporary, Mental Health, Reviews, Romance, YA / 1 Comment

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.
Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.
Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up.
Review:
I was recommended this book via booktube, and I have to say, I was not disappointed. I went into this knowing it was about a girl with schizophrenia paranoia but to what end, that was not known.
Alex is a ‘one of a kind’ kind of character, who made me laugh, cry, and generally love so much. She has so much going on, and doesn’t know what’s real and what’s not. It’s almost heartbreaking at points because you, the reader, have been taken through this journey, only for the rug to be pulled out from under you. I was right there with Alex, horrified, scared, confused. It was a mish-mash of feelings that utterly made me love this book so much.
Miles was my second favourite, and the one that intrigued me just as much as Alex. I had, to be honest, wondered if he was real, just like with a lot of the characters, I was waiting for the catch. You’re left hanging, waiting in the balance for the penny to drop. Sometimes it dropped, sometimes it didn’t.
I loved the whole gang of friends Alex ended up having, and the mystery behind the Headmaster and what he was up to. Her parents were a bit hot and cold, but then it’s surprising they even appeared as a lot of YA has non-existing parents, you know? Actually it was more the mother that annoyed me. She seemed so quick to want to send her child away.
I know it’s weird, but I have this fascination with books about characters with mental health and where hospitals are involved. It might say a lot about me. They really interest me; even if it is brushed up to be less accurate, it’s STILL made aware. I don’t understand the people that get mad because it’s not 100% how it is. Sometimes you have to embellish to make a story, and still remain loyal, and I felt like this one matched that. I got the pain of someone who was suffering, and still I got the love story, and the trauma of things going wrong. It was all there.
I wanted more when it ended, I wanted to know what happened next, but it was still a relatively happy ending, even with flaws. It almost made me want it to be a series. LOL I know. Anyway, I think you’d like this, even if the subject isn’t necessarily something you’re happy with, there’s a whole different story within it. 
A definite 5 star read for me!
-Kat
Please follow and like us:
0
Divider